The Journey Starts Here

Ok, guys, so here goes.  Day 1 of the Vegan Whole Foods challenge was a success.

Breakfast was Banana Ginger Pancakes and a Strawberry Banana Spinach Smoothie.  Recipe for the pancakes is from The Get Healthy, Go Vegan Cookbook by Dr. Neal Barnard.  You can find the link to the recipe here:  http://wholefoodideas.blogspot.com/2011/02/banana-ginger-pancakes.html

The smoothie was my own concoction:

1 cup rice milk

1 ripe banana

1 cup frozen strawberries

1 cup fresh spinach

Blend all ingredients in a high speed blender (I LOVE my Vitamix Pro 500)) and enjoy!

Image

Please excuse my very poor food photography skills.

Lunch was leftovers from the other night – Tahini Lemon Brown Rice & Beans with Pan Fried Tofu.  The recipe (minus the tofu) is from Vegan Yum Yum and can be found here:  http://veganyumyum.com/2007/03/tahini-lemon-rice-and-beans/.  I left out the seitan because I didn’t have any and making it from scratch takes a long time, thus why I added the tofu instead.  It would still be great without either though.  For the record, I haven’t met a recipe I didn’t like from  Vegan Yum Yum, so check out her blog and/or cookbook for some delicious healthy dishes!

Image

Dinner was a new recipe I found on Pinterest.  I am in love with Pinterest…just like I love my cookbooks.  The recipe for Crunchy Cashew Thai Quinoa Salad can be found here:  http://www.ambitiouskitchen.com/2013/04/crunchy-cashew-thai-quinoa-salad-with-ginger-peanut-dressing/#more-5586  It was delicious and gorgeous!

Image

I forgot to take a pic before we ate, so these are the leftovers in a tupperware.  It looks just a gorgeous in tupperware as it did in our bowls.

Between lunch and dinner my sweet tooth kicked in so I indulged in one of the Raw Peanut Butter Cookies I made the other day.  Shortly after I also had about 1 cup of raw sugar snap peas (no picture…I think you all know what those look like…they were super yummy though!).  The cookie recipe can be found here:  http://www.sweetestkitchen.com/2013/01/raw-peanut-butter-cookies/.  So yummy!  The kids love these too and you won’t feel guilty about giving them this treat.  They taste like peanut butter cookie batter…delish!

IMG_5742\

Workout:  I have been doing the 30 Day Burpee Challenge for the last few weeks.  http://30dayfitnesschallenges.com/classes/30-day-burpee-challenge/  I’m on day 27, which calls for 85 burpees…so that’s what I did.  This challenge ends for me in just a few days (thankfully), but I’m looking for a new one.  Any suggestions?  I’m thinking the 30 Day Squat Challenge or the 7 Day Pushup Challenge.  The pushups would probably kill me as right now I can do about 10 modified pushups without my arms shaking.  So, of course, that’s probably the one I’ll choose.  🙂

I also ran/walked 2.68 miles on the treadmill while watching some of the drama unfold on The Bachelorette.  I didn’t see the end yet though…does James stay or go?  Or who really cares?

4 thoughts on “The Journey Starts Here

  1. Nirvana

    Good job jenn! My day was a success too 😉 I honestly can’t wait until tomorrow so I can start adding more fruits and veggies again! Jason has also been doing awesome. I wish I could share my recipes but its just been kale, lettuce, broccoli, apples and pears in any way you want to make it!

    Reply
  2. Kirsten Gimm

    I’m not vegetarian but working on eating healthier and less processed foods and those recipes sound fantastic! Will have to try some soon!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Happy 4th of July! | veggieinspiredjourney

Leave a Reply

