The Dinner That Took All Day

Hello!  It’s Day 2 of the journey and we ate deliciously around here today!

Breakfast

I have suddenly discovered that I’ve been making oatmeal all wrong for my entire life.  Well, not WRONG, but not the yummiest either.  The directions say to bring water to a boil and then add the oats.  I have just recently discovered that by adding the oats to the cold water and bringing everything to a boil together makes for a much creamier oatmeal.  Why have I been in the dark all of these years?  Did you all know about this?

Another favorite thing I have learned is to mash-up a banana and whisk it into the cold water, then add the oats and cook.  It gives it a yummy sweet taste without a lot of overly banana flavor.  I got the idea from a very simple recipe in My Beef With Meat by Rip Esselstyn called Whole Banana Oatmeal.

It took both of these ideas, added some walnuts and fresh strawberries and voila!

Banana Oatmeal with Walnuts and Strawberries (4 servings)

2 cups old fashioned oats

3 1/4 cups water

2 bananas, mashed

1 tbsp cinnamon (more or less to your liking)

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1 cup sliced fresh strawberries

Combine water and mashed banana, whisk together.  Add oats and bring to a boil.  Bring temp to low and simmer for 5 minutes.  Take off heat and add walnuts and strawberries.  Dig in!

Image

M decided he didn’t want cooked oatmeal for breakfast and instead made his own concoction.  I have to give it to him…it turned out great and looked awesome!

Image

Grapes, strawberries,  blueberries and raw oats.  Yum!  He ate every bite.

Lunch

I had already started prepping dinner at this point because I knew it was going to take a long time, so when I got hungry for lunch I didn’t have a lot of energy for anything fancy.  I eat a lot of sandwiches with hummus and veggies on toasted sprouted wheat bread (I like Ezekiel or Trader Joe’s brands) and this sounded perfect and quick for today.  However, I didn’t have any hummus and I didn’t even have the energy to make any (I know it only takes 5 minutes…or less!).  Sooo, I just mashed up some chickpeas with avocado, spread that on thick to both slices of my toast and piled on some cucumber slices (fresh from the garden), thinly sliced radish and thick slices of tomato.  I also had an apple, but no picture of that.

Image

Dinner

Oh, boy, dinner.  I’m not going to lie, this took a LONG time to make.  I made the Lentil Bolognese Sauce this morning. It wasn’t hard, but you do have to cook the lentils for 20-30 minutes and then add quinoa and cook for another 10-15 minutes and sautee some veggies and then puree some stuff in the blender and then add it all back together to simmer again for another 30 minutes or so.  I also started soaking some cashews for the Fresh Homemade Moxarella.  After lunch I made the “cheese.”  This “cheese” didn’t take long at all to make besides the soaking time and I was fascinated watching it all come together.  A science experiment in the kitchen….LOVE!  After a short nap (YES!  This doesn’t happen very often, but I needed it today) I was back in the kitchen slicing eggplants and zucchini and grilling them (I did this on the stovetop) for the soon to be lasagna.  No noodles needed for this lasagna (which also makes it gluten free for those of you going that route).  Tedious work, but so worth it!!!  It was delicious and quite filling with the bolognese sauce.

Grilled Eggplant and Zucchini Lasagna

IMG_5754

I forgot the tomato slices on the top, but didn’t miss them.  But, just look at that “cheese”!!  So melty and gooey and cheesy….amazing!

Workout

I’m on day 28 of the 30 day Burpee Challenge so I did 90 burpees.  I will be so happy to NOT do any burpees come this weekend!  Only two more days left.

I also chased the kids around outside for about 30 minutes this morning and got in about 20-30 minutes of catch with a ball and glove with the hubby while watching M play t-ball tonight.  Those things count, right?

That’s a wrap for today.

2 thoughts on “The Dinner That Took All Day

  1. Nirvana

    This day Jason and I added rice, more veggies and more fruits back. So my lunch was a simple cilantro lime rice with red and green peppers, tomato, onion, jalapeno, baby spinach and avocado. I also had spicy potatoes in a tomato sauce. This was lunch and dinner pretty much. A fruit salad for breakfast.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Sizzlin’ Fajitas for dinner | veggieinspiredjourney

Leave a Reply

