Another day, another delicious dinner

Breakfast

This is one of my favorite breakfasts and it’s easy to change up with different fruits, nuts, etc. It’s based on Rip’s Big Bowl from the Engine 2 Diet.  I used Shredded Wheat, Cheerios, Grape Nuts and Raw Old Fashioned Oats – 1/4 cup of each.  Then top with 1/4 cup chopped walnuts, 1 tbsp flaxmeal, 1 kiwi diced, 5-6 strawberries diced, and 1 banana sliced.  I’ve done this with grapefruit before and I LOVE it, but I didn’t have any today.  I mixed it all together and poured about 3/4 cup of unsweetened rice milk over the whole thing.

Image

Lunch

Lunch was the final leftovers from the Tahini Lemon Rice and Beans

Dinner

I’ve been meaning to try this dinner for quite awhile now.  I’ve had the Veganomicon cookbook for a couple years and I love it.  I found the recipe for these chickpea cutlets posted on another blog just recently and it prompted me to give it a try.  I’m glad I did!  It was like eating chicken fried steak.  I served it up with mashed potatoes (made with unsweetened almond milk) and vegan mushroom gravy, corn and roasted asparagus.  The whole family liked it.  Hubby thought it was maybe just a bit too crispy on the outside….perhaps I burnt some of his….oops! I LOVED the crispiness of mine.  Chickpea Cutlets:  I did not use the optional ingredients and I used water, not vegetable broth.

IMG_5757

Another Veganomicon recipe coming tomorrow as well.  As well as a DELISH raw vegan cheesecake.  Can’t wait to dig into that!

Workout

95 burpees today.  I am definitely feeling it in my arms and legs these days….wish I was seeing it too!  100 burpees tomorrow.  Interested in the 30 Day Burpee Challenge?  Give it a try!

I also did 200 jumping jacks just for fun while I was waiting for some pictures to load to Shutterfly this afternoon.

That’s it for me today.  I see a gorgeous bonfire in the cul-de-sac outside my living room window and I’m about to grab an adult beverage and join the party.  I am super exhausted today and the kids were frustrating me, so this is just what I need to wind down my night.

5 thoughts on “Another day, another delicious dinner

  1. Nirvana

    Nice job! I might have to try the chickpea cutlets and gravy and see if Jason will eat it! Today, we were very excited to add legumes and nuts back, among a few other things!! Kale banana smoothie for breakfast, the cilantro lime rice with veggie dish from yesterday but added black beans, a modified tomato/spinach/oregano pizza with no cheese and roasted eggplant soup for dinner 😉 Yum! Today was our official last day of the detox! Jason survived!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

