Happy 4th of July!

So, I have a confession to make.  Last night I enjoyed 2 beers by the cul-de-sac bonfire with good neighbors.  Beer is in no way, shape or form a WHOLE food, but, I had one Rolling Rock and one Miller Lite (both of which just happened to be leftover in our garage fridge from some party) and they are both VEGAN.  So, while I broke part of my whole foods challenge, I did stay true to the vegan part of the challenge, which is really more important to me right now anyway…getting rid of the meat, dairy and eggs.  I did say this was a journey and usually those include mishaps of some sort, right?  Today’s dinner will also prove that every once in awhile it’s okay to have a little processed food….it’s a holiday after all!  Cheers!

Breakfast

We finished off the remainder of the Banana Ginger Pancakes from the other day along with Kale Banana Smoothies.

  • 1 cup unsweetened rice milk
  • 1 banana
  • 1 apple
  • 2 handfuls chopped kale (mine was fresh from the garden)
  • 1 tbsp almond butter or peanut butter
  • 3-4 ice cubes

Blend all ingredients in a high speed blender and enjoy!

Image

Lunch

We hit up a parade today for the holiday and it started at 1p so we decided to go out to lunch first.  I was nervous about finding something suitable to eat, but my meal ended up being delicious.  We went to Tony Sacco’s Pizzeria and I ordered the Vegetariana Pizza with caramelized onions, tomatoes, mushrooms and roasted sweet peppers and zucchini, but HOLD THE CHEESE!  It was great!

Image

Dinner

I prepped dinner this morning since I knew we would get getting home late afternoon from the parade.  All I had to do was cook the burgers and voila, dinner is served.  We had P.S. Chorizo Patties from My Beef With Meat by Rip Esselstyn served on whole wheat buns, Brooklyn Deli Macaroni Salad from Veganomicon by Isa Chandra Moskowitz & Terry Hope Romero, and potato chips (yes, that’s right, I said potato chips and no they weren’t homemade).  The burgers were pretty good though they didn’t hold together that well.  I’ve made the macaroni salad several times and everyone always loves it.  I used Agave Nectar instead of white sugar and 1/2 cup vinegar instead of 1/4 (I like vinegar!).  I also used 4 radishes and 3 carrots cause I like a bit more veg in my pasta salad.  Recipe also calls for Veganaise, which again is not a whole food, but like I said before, it’s a holiday and sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do!  It’s delicious.

Image

Image

Dessert

DELICIOUS!!!  Raw Vegan Cheesecake.  The kids licked their plates on this one and the hubby went back for seconds (as did I!).  This was so easy to make.  Try this! You will not be disappointed.

Image

Image

Workout

On this final day of my 30 Day Burpee Challenge I did 100 burpees!!!  Tomorrow will be a rest day.  Next up, starting on Saturday, will be the 7 Day Pushup Challenge and the hubby decided he’s joining me on this one.  I, however, will be doing modified pushups, not the real deal.  Maybe after this 7 day challenge, I will be able to do a regular pushup!

Off to the fireworks soon!  The kids are already tired and crabby, so this should be interesting.  Happy 4th!

3 thoughts on “Happy 4th of July!

  1. Nirvana

    Good job! We never did say no alcohol 😉
    I had fruit with raw oatmeal and flax meal for breakfast (so did Jason), veggie sandwich with hummus for lunch and portabella mushrooms grilled and stuffed with quinoa and basil pesto from the forks over knives book (tofu makes it creamy-very good) with a tomato salad for dinner. I made your raw peanut butter cookies for dessert and everyone had seconds! Definitely satisfied my sweet tooth!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Happy Saturday!  Hopefully, you were able to get | veggieinspiredjourney

Leave a Reply

