Happy Saturday!  Hopefully, you were able to get

Happy Saturday!  Hopefully, you were able to get out to enjoy the nice weather today during this holiday weekend.  We spent the majority of the day putting our 5 year old in timeout.  Yesterday, he had an awesome day with no warnings or timeouts and today, the opposite.  Oh, the joys of parenting young children.

Breakfast

I grabbed a banana first thing this morning for a quick pick me up before my morning run on the treadmill.  I was sooo tired today that I figured if I didn’t get it out of the way in the morning, it probably wouldn’t happen.  After my run and a quick shower, I toasted up a half of a 100% Whole Wheat Bagel and topped it with the Raw Herb “Cheese” Spread that I shared yesterday and cut up an apple to go along with it.

ImageI need to take some lessons in food photography.  Good thing the food tastes better than my pics make it look!

Lunch

Once again, we found ourselves eating out at a restaurant.  I swear we do NOT usually eat out this much, but the hubby replaced some tiles on the kitchen floor that were looking very ragged and it needed to dry.  We couldn’t have little munchkins walking all over it and dropping their lunch on it, so out we went.  I got to choose where we went and I chose Duke’s Alehouse & Kitchen, one of my faves!  They get most of their meat, dairy and veggies from local farms, use organic when possible and they are VERY vegetarian and vegan friendly!  Each menu item even indicates if it is or could be made vegan.  Love it!  I started with the Wild Rice Minestrone, which was great.  My main meal was the Coconut Curried Butternut Squash with apples and golden raisins, served over rice.  It had a delicate curry flavor and I thought it was delicious!

ImageI ate half of it before I remembered to take a picture.  Oops!

Image

Dinner

I don’t usually think of sandwiches as dinner fare, but I saw this recipe on Pinterest and wanted to give it a try.  It’s called the Tempeh Reuben Sandwich, but truth be told, it tasted NOTHING like a reuben.  That was just fine by me because I don’t like reubens!  This sandwich had homemade vegan Thousand Island Dressing, marinated and sauteed strips of tempeh and a tangy tahini brussel sprout salad all sandwiched between two pieces of toasty rye bread.  It was great.  The hubby even had seconds!   I served it up with the leftover Pasta Salad from the 4th of July.

Image

If you’ve never tried tempeh, you should really give it a try.  It is super high in protein (20g per serving) but low in calories and fat and has a meaty texture.  In fact, on this website, tempeh is listed as one of the world’s healthiest foods.  If you steam it for 5-10 minutes first, it takes marinades really well…which is how you use it in this recipe.  Click here for tempeh product info (the Fakin’ Bacon is AWESOME on a BLT).

Workout

Today, was day 1 of the 7 Day Pushup Challenge, so 100 pushups (modified pushups, that is) I did!  It was actually easier than I thought it would be.  I’m sure as the days tick by, it will get harder as my arms get more tired.

I also got in 2.3 miles on the treadmill.  First time in a LONG time that I ran non stop with no walking breaks.  I have been following the Couch to 5K.  I just finished the last day of Week 5.  I have done this program a couple times before and it does work.  I just wish I would stick with the running thing so I don’t have to keep starting over.  That’s what I get for having complicated or high risk pregnancies and being told not to exercise.  I’m just glad I’m getting back on track finally (about time since the girls will be 18 months in just a couple weeks).

Off to watch a movie on the couch with the hubby.  Good night!

Leave a Reply

