The cookies that weren’t.

Breakfast

I wasn’t expecting much from this recipe.  I only made it cause I had the leftover brussel sprout salad from the other night’s Tempeh Reuben Sandwiches and I had a potato sitting the panty that needed to be used.  So, I used that brussel sprout salad in place of the quartered brussel sprouts the recipe calls for.  It was actually really good!  I added some fresh cherry tomatoes to the mix after I plated.  I loved the lemon in this recipe…yum!  Potato Brussel Sprout Hash by Isa Chandra Moskowitz in the cookbook Appetite For Reduction.

Image

Lunch

Leftovers again, as usual.  Blueberry Quinoa Salad

Snack

I attempted to make these Cocoa Cookie Dough Balls by Dreena Burton.  This recipe did  not work for me.  I couldn’t get the mixture to become a dough (and I processed it for well over 5 minutes).  I don’t think my ratio of dried fruit to oat/almond mixture was right….maybe I measured wrong.  Not sure, but it needed more liquid.  So, instead of rolling into balls, which was NOT a possibility with my mixture, I pressed it into a brownie pan.  It seemed like it would work and I threw it in the fridge to set.  When I cut them several hours later, they still crumbled.  Sooooo, we just ate it with a spoon.  The taste was super yummy (I used almond extract instead of vanilla).  My version would be great sprinkled over ice cream.  But, for now, we’ll just eat it with a spoon.  Nothing wrong with that!!

Image

Notice all the crumbly bits in there?

Dinner

Another success story.  I found this recipe on Pinterest over the weekend and just knew I had to put it on the menu this week.  It looked super easy, delicious and would also use up the leftover cabbage I had sitting the fridge.  In the comments of this particular blog, the blogger mentioned that tempeh bacon would be the perfect topper for this yummy pasta.  Cabbage, cream, bacon…of course!  I didn’t have any tempeh bacon, but I did have the leftover crispy tempeh strips from the Tempeh Reuben Sandwiches the other night. (Nothing goes to waste in this house!  I LOVE having leftovers to repurpose!)  So, I chopped up that tempeh into bite size pieces and added it to the mix.  So good!!  Will definitely be making this again!  The kids LOVED it!  C had TWO huge bowls full.

Orecchiette with Cabbage Peas & Lemon Cashew Cream Sauce

Image

Workout

100 push ups (or maybe 120).  This was day 4 of the 7 Day Pushup Challenge.  I remember at one point I only had 20 left to do today.  I think I did them.  Then a couple hours later I found myself questioning whether or not I really did those last 20.  Sooooo, I did 20 more just to be sure.

30 minutes of Tae Bo (the Billy Blanks DVD…love those!)

20 minutes playing “So You Think You Can Dance” with my 3 little squirts.  Unfortunately, am the one that got voted off each time….or as M liked to say, I was CHOPPED!  I think he’s getting two of my fave shows confused.  LOL!

One thought on “The cookies that weren’t.

  1. Nirvana

    Tuesday, my long day at work…
    Breakfast: oatmeal with fruit and chia seeds
    Lunch: pita sandwich with hummus and veggies, kiwi
    We had a lunch and learn and they brought sweets! But I was good and didn’t have anything. I actually didn’t crave anything. Instead I just ate a left over raw peanut butter cookie.
    Dinner: I made an asparagus, shiitake mushroom and red onion stir fry. I used ginger and garlic to start with a little grape seed oil. Added the veggies until cooked and mushrooms browned. Added a little dry white wine and some liquid aminos. Stirred all together and added sesame seeds at the end. Served over brown rice.
    A larabar for desert.

    There, I’m caught up with my updates. Now I want to read yours 🙂 I haven’t had a chance to read a few I missed. I bet you have some yummy recipes. I want to try the quinoa patties.
    Good job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

