Who knew pushups would be this easy?

Breakfast

While browsing Pinterest yesterday I came across this Carrot Dreamsicle Smoothie recipe and knew I had to make it for breakfast today.  I juiced my own carrots in my Breville Juice Fountain.  I also didn’t have hemp seeds so I used chia seeds instead.  Worked out just fine.  It was tasty, but didn’t really remind me a creamsicle which I was hoping for.  Oh well…still good.  I paired the smoothie with one of Anne’s Pumpkin Muffins from My Beef With Meat by Rip Esselstyn.

IMG_5827

Lunch

Per usual, I had leftovers for lunch.  Portabella Mushroom Fajitas.

Dinner

This meal got mixed reviews from the crew.  I  LOVED it.  The little girls LOVED it.  M liked it but picked around the butternut squash.  The hubby didn’t really care for it.  He didn’t like the butternut squash either.  Hubs did say, however, that he liked the beans which is something of a miracle because he doesn’t really care for beans either.  That doesn’t ever stop me from making them though cause I love ’em and they are good for you.  I had two helpings and we were left with NO leftovers, which makes me sad because you know how much I like leftovers!  So double it up if you have more than 2 adults, 3 kids in your family or if you simply want to enjoy it for a few days.  And if you don’t like butternut squash like the boys in my family, I would suggest cutting up a few large carrots and using those instead.  I really liked the sweetness in this dish, but carrots would likely do the same thing.  A few notes:  The recipe on this link has flaxmeal added…this is not in the original cookbook recipe so I did not add that.  I did, however, use brown basmati rice instead of white, so needed an additional 20 minutes of cooktime to soften the rice.  I added the butternut squash after the first 20 minutes.

Kidney Bean and Butternut Jamba Stew

IMG_5831

For dessert, we enjoyed some fresh from the garden sweet cherry tomatoes.  I FINALLY spied some red ones out there today and M was excited to get out to pick them.  They didn’t disappoint.

Workout

Day  5 of the 7 Day Pushup Challenge is in the books.  100 pushups.  This challenge is turning out to be easier than I expected.  I need to kick it up a notch!  I need to start thinking about my next challenge.  I think it’s going to be the 30 Day Squat Challenge, which should be more of a challenge since I’m also running a few times a week.

2.61 miles on the treadmill.

Hump day, done!

One thought on “Who knew pushups would be this easy?

  1. Nirvana

    Ok, so this is Wednesday… Lets see… I had a banana and almond butter on sprouted whole wheat toast after my workout for breakfast. Lunch was a meeting out with my accountant. I was at claim jumpers so I asked for their veggie mini pizza with no cheese. They didn’t have whole wheat crust but it was really good. It had squash and zucchini with peppers and mushrooms with a basil marinera sauce on it. The waitress asked me twice if I wanted cheese. She probably thought it was weird but my lunch was really good. It was another busy day and with a festering headache and getting home late, Jason brought home chipotle for dinner. Brown rice burrito bowl with pico de gallo, black beans and peppers and quacamole. It’s good but the sodium is ridiculous! Would have been better had I made it at home but my head was killing me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

