The day of leftovers

Not much to report today.  It was a busy day of doctor appointments, chiropractor appointments, and a night out for book club for me, so we ate a LOT of leftovers today.

Breakfast

One of my favorite easy go to breakfasts: Rip’s Big Bowl from the Engine 2 Diet.  I used Shredded Wheat, Puffed Brown Rice, Grape Nuts and raw oats (1/4 cup of each), 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts, 1 kiwi, 1/2 peach and 1/2 banana and topped it all with about 3/4 cup unsweetened rice milk.  Yum!

Image

Lunch

Lunch was a crazy mess of leftovers piled onto a sandwich, which surprisingly worked.  I smashed 1/2 an avocado and spread that on one slice of sprouted whole wheat bread, topped with slices of raw yellow and red sweet peppers leftover from fajita night (those that didn’t make it into the marinade), leftover raw red cabbage also from fajita night and then on the other slice of bread I spread the leftover Potato Brussel Sprout Hash from the other morning’s breakfast.  This doesn’t even sound appetizing as I write it, but it was actually really good.  The flavors worked somehow and I devoured every last bite.  It was a nice feeling to clear out some space in the fridge from all those leftovers too.

Image

Dinner

Another meal of leftovers.  I had the Tofu Noodle Soup from the other night, followed by a whole wheat bagel with the Herbed “Cream Cheese”.  Dinner was rushed tonight and I forgot to take a photo.

Book Club

Of course I snacked a bit at book club tonight, which was at a restaurant.  I had a glass of wine with hummus and pita bread and a yummy dill cucumber and red onion salad (very vinegary…love!).  I also had a piece of bruschetta (I pulled off the gooey melty looked sooooo yummy mozzarella), and it was great even without the cheese.  Sorry, no photos, I didn’t even think about it (plus everyone would have thought I was weird taking pics of my food!)

Workout

100 Pushups.  Final day of the 7 Day Pushup Challenge is tomorrow.

2.65 miles on the treadmill

My weekend starts tomorrow!  Yay!

One thought on “The day of leftovers

  1. Nirvana

    Ok, so I’m behind! This is going to be tough during the week to post what I ate due to work after your posts but I think I’ll have to write it down so I don’t forget! Ha! I’ll do today since its today… I’ll have to go back and do the last two days tomorrow when I have more time.
    Breakfast: kale banana smoothie with flax meal
    Snack at work: peach
    Lunch: a few bites of my left overs (pesto potatoes with canalinni beans, rest of roasted vegetables). I heated my lunch twice today and managed to eat 1/4 of it maybe! Busy, busy!
    Snack after work: mini pita and roasted red pepper hummus
    Dinner: lentil stew with avocado salsa from forks over knives, sprouted whole wheat bread with pesto and tomato slices (the rest of the family had a chicken pesto panini with their lentils :(. At least they ate their lentils I guess.
    Dessert: you must try this!…. Oatmeal banana cookies (they don’t really have a name but that sums it up). I took 1 banana, 1/2 cup oatmeal (I used the quick 1 min oats to use them up but I would have tried with raw old fashioned oats), some flax meal, some almond meal (I just eyeballed it) a scoop of my vanilla whey protein powder (optional), and some cacao nibs. Mashed it all up, placed on a cookie sheet in cookie shapes, in oven at 350 for 15 min. So yummy! Definitely settled my sweet tooth!
    This really has not been hard at all! It’s been fun searching for new recipes and being creative. Good job on your workouts too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

