Vegan eats in the city

Well, it’s another day of restaurants. We were in Chicago today for the Cubs/Cards game.

breakfast
Sprouted whole wheat toast with peanut butter and cinnamon, strawberries and kiwi and one if Anne’s Pumpkin Muffins (post from the other day).

lunch
We stopped at Rockwood before the game. I started with a mixed green salad topped with chickpeas, tomatoes, cucumbers and strawberries drizzled with a garlic vinagerette. Then I had a panini with zucchini, summer squash, mushrooms and peppers (hold the cheese and pesto mayo). I used some of my vinagerette to drizzle on the bread in place of the mayo I opted out of. Washed it all down with a 312 beer (as far as I know all Goose Island beers are vegan). It was all delicious!

20130712-224751.jpg

dinner

For dinner we hit up Fulton’s on the River. This is a steak and seafood place which save for the house salad had absolutely NOTHING on the menu I could eat. Lucky for me, the chef was very accommodating (I called ahead to give them a heads up about my vegan diet). The chef made me a mixed veggie plate of Peruvian purple potatoes, beets, mushrooms, peaches, and micro greens dressed with a grapefruit and pineapple salsa. Sounds odd, but it was great and I ate every last bit. Oh, and I did start with that house salad.

20130712-225350.jpg

20130712-225541.jpg

2 thoughts on “Vegan eats in the city

  1. Nirvana

    You did good! Isn’t it so hard sometimes to eat out?! I find it very dissapointing that there are not more healthier options on the menus at restaurants! I also ate out with some friends for dinner and there were not many options to choose from.
    Breakfast: kale, celery, banana and cacao nibs smoothie. I also made the vegan chorizo from TJ’s and put it on sprouted whole wheat toast.
    Lunch: veggie sandwich with hummus
    Dinner: an almond champagne martini (very refreshing), a bite of a spinach stuffed mushroom only bc the rest of it had feta cheese on it and it was the only corner that was cheese free. A gluten free pizza crust with marinera pizza sauce and veggies (artichoke, portabella mushrooms, roasted peppers, sundries tomatoes and spinach) and no cheese!
    Snacked on my oatmeal banana cookies left over from the day before.

    Reply
  2. sebestyen2 Post author

    Totally disappointing that there aren’t healthier options to choose from….especially when it’s really so easy to cook/bake without dairy/eggs. Grrr. It’s a good thing I like zucchini, summer squash and peppers because it’s usually those veggies on dry bread of some sort.

    I need to make those cookies!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

