What’s that smell?

Has anyone cooked with Buckwheat Groats before?  Did they smell funny to you?  They tasted great (recipe under Dinner below), but we had a hard time getting over the weird smell.  The cool part is that in sight and texture they resemble ground beef, so it’s a good replacement if you are trying to convince a carnivore to love meatless meals.

Breakfast

Kale Apple Banana Smoothie

  • 1 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1 apple, cored
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter (or nut butter of choice)
  • few dashes of cinnamon
  • 2-3 large kale leaves, ribs removed
  • Handful of ice cubes

Blend all ingredients in a high speed blender.  Enjoy!

Image

Lunch

I had one Whole Wheat Pita.  One side I filled with Mock Tuna Salad by Happy Herbivore with lettuce, tomato and red cabbage.  The other side I filled simply with avocado slices and tomato slices.  Delish!  For the Mock Tuna Salad, I didn’t have kelp, so instead used a few shakes of Old Bay Seasoning.

ImageMock Tuna Salad

Image

Image

Dinner

The original recipe I used is from Welcoming Kitchen, but I can’t find it online.  I added marinara sauce to mine and used eggplant instead of mushrooms.  Because I’m changing it up a bit, I’ll just post the recipe here like its my own.  🙂

Kasha Varnishkas (Pasta with Kasha)

  • 12 oz chunky pasta (I used whole wheat penne…bow ties would be great too)
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 3 tbsp olive oil, divided
  • 1 cup dried kasha (buckwheat groats)
  • 1 onion, finely chopped (mine was fresh from our garden!)
  • 1 cup eggplant, cubed
  • 1 jar marinara sauce

Cook pasta according to directions.

Bring vegetable broth and 2 tbsp olive oil to a boil.  Add kasha, cover, and reduce heat to simmer.  Cook kasha for 10 minutes or until liquid is absorbed.

Heat 1 tbsp olive oil in a skillet.  Add onion and eggplant.  Cook until soft.  Add marinara sauce and simmer for a few minutes to let flavors blend.

Drain pasta.  Add kasha and vegetable mixture to pasta to combine.  Enjoy!

Sadly, there is no picture.  I was running out to a meeting and time was getting away from me.  I inhaled my dinner in about 4 minutes flat and only afterwards did I realize I forgot to take a picture.  I believe there are leftovers though (the hubby cleaned everything up after feeding the kids once I had left for my meeting), so if I have it for lunch tomorrow, I’ll try to remember to take a picture.

Workout

1st day of the 30 Day Squat Challenge, so 50 squats.

40 calf raises

50 pushups, for old times sake.

25 tricep dips

2 thoughts on “What’s that smell?

  1. Nirvana

    I have never heard of buckwheat groats before! I checked out some recipes in the my beef with meat book and there are some things that I have not heard of or would even know where to buy them at. There was something in the ps chorizo patties I was going to ask you what it was but I can’t remember right now. I would be interested in seeing a picture of your dinner.
    My day, kind of uneventful yet relaxing and busy at the same time…
    Breakfast: our kitchen was bare so the kids wanted burnt toast. I had their chilaquillis with no cheese, no chicken and no egg. Instead I had them add avocado and more tomato, onion, cilantro salsa and fruit.
    We went to the pool and then went home for lunch, which was a veggie sandwhich with hummus. This one from panera bread since we still had not gone grocery shopping-ugh! Then I had a much needed massage scheduled so I was stressing about when I was going to get groceries done. Fed the kids leftovers when I got back home and gave them baths while Jason ran out to get some essentials. My dinner consisted of not one meal but a hodgepodge of different things since I was scrambling to find a sitter for the kids tomorrow. Thankfully, I found a couple! Thanks! So I had fruit, leftover quinoa salad and sweet potato chips. I made a chia pudding with almond milk for dessert. Meal planning stressed me out this weekend and now I’ll have to figure out when I’m going to do that and shop for anything else I may need and my week has already started off on the wrong foot with the whole sitter thing. Oy!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Burger and Fries! | veggieinspiredjourney

Leave a Reply

