Burger and Fries!

Breakfast

I have had a sore throat since yesterday and have been popping the zinc lozenges like crazy (I SWEAR those work if you start taking them at the VERY first sign of symptoms).  I thought to further boost my immune system, I needed some freshly made juice.  So, this morning I juiced 4 tangerines, 1 red apple, 1 lemon, 1 cucumber,  and 4 large kale leaves. This is easily 2 servings, but I downed it all myself!

Image

To further pile on the antioxidants, I cut up 1/2 banana, 4-5 strawberries and 1 nectarine, added in a large handful of blueberries, mixed it all with about 1/2 cup of raw old fashioned oats and topped it all off with about 1/4 cup of unsweetened almond milk just to make the oats less dry.  Perfect!

Image

Lunch

I warmed up the leftovers from last night…the Pasta Varnishkas.  It was fine, but again, that smell.  After a couple of bites I just couldn’t do it, but I did manage a picture this time.  I do like the idea of this recipe though…I’m thinking of trying it next time with bulgar instead of buckwheat groats.

Image

After the first bites of lunch went awry, I opted for a simple pita sandwich.  I had some tempeh in the fridge, so I pan fried a few slices and added it to a pita with tomato, cucumber and vegan mozzarella shreds.

Image

Dinner

It was burger and fries for dinner and it was delicious!  The hubby was not convinced, but the kids all liked it and I loved it.  I’ve tried this Black Bean Burger recipe many times before and I always find myself coming back to it.  It’s a simple recipe that ends up looking much like a beef burger.  It holds up really well because of the vital wheat gluten.  There aren’t a lot of strong flavors, so you can accessorize your burger to your liking.  I piled mine high with raw baby spinach leaves, tomato slices, and pickles and topped with mustard and a slather of Veganaise.  On the side we had Polenta Fries and Carrot Apple Slaw.  For the slaw, I used a recipe from Vegan for Her by Virginia Messina, but I tweaked it a bit.

For the salad:

  • 1 large apple, cored and quartered
  • 2 large carrots, peeled
  • 1 large stalk of celery
  • 2 radishes

For the dressing:

  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp whole grain mustard
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries or cherries (or goji berries or raisins or currants, etc)

Shred the apple, carrots, celery and radishes in a food processor fitted with the grating blade.  Transfer the shredded apple mixture to a large bowl.  Blend all the dressing ingredients in the food processor (or a blender…but why make more dishes for yourself).  Pour the dressing over the shredded apple mixture and toss.  Store in an airtight container and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.  Serves 4  (The original recipe called for 3 kale leaves shredded with the apple mixture as well and I simply forgot to add them.  Next time I definitely will!)

Image

Image

Workout

55 squats

150 jumping jacks

25 tricep dips

Wanted to run, but with my throat hurting, breathing hard on the treadmill wasn’t sounding so great.  Hopefully, I’ll walk on the treadmill while watching some of The Bachelorette later, but that is to be determined.

Happy Monday!

5 thoughts on “Burger and Fries!

  1. Nirvana

    Your lunch looked good, sorry it didn’t smell so good.
    Breakfast: kale, celery, banana, almond milk smoothie
    Lunch: quinoa salad left overs and an apple
    Dinner butternut squash with brown rice noodles
    Dessert: chia pudding with blueberries
    Your meals look delicious as always! I wish I had more time! I get in a funk during the week if I haven’t planned out stuff for that week-grrr.

    Reply
    1. sebestyen2 Post author

      It did look good, right? That smell was so weird!

      I could never do it without planning ahead. It does take time to plan it out, but it saves my sanity later. I find I do a lot of prep while the girls nap so that by dinner time all I have left to do is the actual cooking part. Unfortunately, you don’t have that luxury.

      I’m going to attempt making my own seitan pepperoni tomorrow for pizza! Stay tuned!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Pizza night! | veggieinspiredjourney

Leave a Reply

