Pizza night!

Breakfast

We had pancakes for breakfast with a side of strawberries.  These Banana Ginger Pancakes that are quickly becoming my favorite go to.  They are super simple to make, made with whole wheat flour and sweetened only with banana, applesauce and a little bit of agave.  In fact, I think they are sweet enough on their own that syrup is not necessary.  Even my 5 year old doesn’t ask for syrup for these.  If you do feel you need some syrup, PLEASE PLEASE use pure maple syrup instead of that awful chemical laden pancake syrup.  I whipped up a batch of Berry Kale Smoothies as well.

Berry Kale Smoothie (Serves 1, easy to double if necessary)

  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 cup frozen berries (today I used strawberries and blueberries)
  • 1 banana, peeled
  • 2 cups kale, ribs removed

Combine all ingredients in a high speed blender and enjoy!  If you like things a bit sweeter, feel free to add about 1/2 cup of pitted dates to the blender with everything else.)

Image

ImageThis did not photograph well…and, honestly, it wasn’t that awesome looking in person either, but it was super yummy!

Lunch

The kids ate the leftover Black Bean Burgers, but I had some buns leftover so wanted to  make use of  those.  I also had some eggplant leftover from the other night, so I added a few slices to a frying pan and quickly heated them up.  Piled that on the bun along with fresh from the garden cucumber slices, radish slices and tomato slices and, voila, a scrumptious sandwich is served.  I had a side of the Carrot Apple Slaw from last night’s meal as well.

Image

Image

Image

Dinner

I made homemade seitan pepperoni for the first time today.  Wasn’t sure what to expect, but it turned out awesome!  I ended up snacking on it all day.  It could use maybe a touch more spices, but it definitely didn’t disappoint.  And I can’t believe how quick and easy it was to make.  Wow!  Definitely a keeper of a recipe!

Image

Image

I used that seitan pepperoni for pizzas.  I used the Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Pizza Crust Mix (which is ironic since the seitan pepperoni is nothing but gluten).  Topped one with Seitan Pepperoni and Vegan Mozzerella and the other with fresh spinach, tomato slices and Vegan Mozzerella.  I prefer Daiya cheese, but there isn’t anywhere to find it around her except Whole Foods, which is a good 30 minutes from me, so I opted for Trader Joe’s Mozzarella.  I definitely should have made the trip for the Daiya.  The Trader Joe’s brand was kind of gummy or something…hard to describe.  It coated my mouth like peanut butter does, but thinner.  The taste was okay, just a texture thing.  It did melt beautifully though.  And FYI, if you don’t want to mix your own dough (which is really super easy, but does take time for the dough to rise), Pillsbury refrigerated pizza dough is accidentally vegan….so feel free to open the tube, roll it out and pile on the vegan toppings!

ImageImageImageI pan fried half of the pepperoni slices first before adding to the pizza just to see the difference in taste.  I didn’t think there was much difference.  I liked it so well as is that I wouldn’t bother pan frying next time.

Workout

60 squats (Day 3 of the 30 Day Squat Challenge)

50 calf raises

50 push ups

250 jumping jacks

60 minutes Advanced Tae Bo DVD

Whew!

2 thoughts on “Pizza night!

  1. Nirvana

    Tuesday… I also had a berry kale smoothie for breakfast. Almonds for a snack at work. Lunch was lentils with quinoa. Dinner was again a hodgepodge of whatever I had in the fridge/pantry due to the poor meal planning I did this week. Jason and I had some bell peppers, black beans, tomatoes, onions, cilantro over brown rice and an avocado while the rest of the family ate chicken with artichoke and red peppers with Israeli couscous. It was all mixed in with the chicken so I couldn’t eat it. The family (kids and hubby) continue to eat meat but its always been in small amounts. Veggies are always a bigger portion of the meal. Oh, and I also had some spicy potatoes.

    Reply
    1. sebestyen2 Post author

      Your hodgepodge dinner actually sounds really good! I remember when I first started working and living on my own I would always make brown rice and mix in a can of black beans, corn and some salsa and call it a meal. Maybe serve it with some tortilla chips too. And that was before eating vegan or even vegetarian was on my radar, but it was cheap and easy and actually very satisfying.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

