A day late

I didn’t get around to posting yesterday.  The hubby and I had a random weekday date night and by the time we got home I just wanted to put on my jammies and relax.  So, this is a recap of yesterday.

Breakfast

Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal (serves 4)

  • 3 1/4 cups water
  • 2 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1 banana, smashed
  • 2 heaping tbsp peanut butter (the kind made from ONLY peanuts please!)
  • few dashes of cinnamon

Add water and the smashed banana to a pot and whisk well to incorporate as much as possible.  Add in oats and bring water up to a boil.  Reduce heat, add peanut butter and cinnamon and simmer until thick and creamy.  When serving, you may want to add a few splashes of almond milk to the individual bowls of oatmeal to loosen things up a bit.  Enjoy!

Image

Lunch

This one was all about the kiddos.  Homemade Spaghettios.  While I was making it M asked, “Mom, what are spaghettios?”  Ha!  We really don’t eat a lot of packaged pre-made food around here.  Let me tell you, the littles LOVED these!!  I thought they were tasty, but it just didn’t really hit the spot for me (it was spaghettios after all), so after eating only a small bowl, I found myself grabbing an apple and a handful of cashews about 30 minutes later.  But, again, these were a huge hit with the kids!

Image

Does that not look like the real deal right there?!

Dinner

Like I mentioned before, the hubby and I had date night, so we went out for Mexican.  I had the Veggie Fajitas (portabella mushrooms, zucchini, summer squash, onions, red bell peppers) with sides of black beans, cilantro lime rice and guacamole.  We kicked it all off with chips and salsa and I tried a yummy, but very strong, drink with muddled watermelon, mint, tequila and agave served on the rocks.

Image

Image

Image

Workout

It was a rest day for my squats.

2.7 mile jog on the treadmill

3 thoughts on “A day late

  1. Nirvana

    Well, Wednesday I had my morning workout in the heat! It was hot and humid and it was only 6:30am! I cooled off with lots of water and another kale banana berry smoothie for breakfast. I also had a tomato spinach wrap that I just put together quickly bc it was a very busy day! I took that to go and had it as a snack. Later, lunch was a salad from the cafe place next door since I went in to work. With all the running around, we got home late and since I was not organized for dinner this week, we went out-blah! The boys decided on red robin so I went on their website to see what I could order. When we got there, I asked the waitress what the difference was between their garden burger and the boca vegan burger. You’ll love what she said!… She said the garden burger was a bunch of veggies and cheese all mixed together and the boca, well… Like cardboard. Little did she know that was exactly what I was going to order! It was so good eating a “burger” with all the fixings (I added cooked onions, mushrooms, lettuce and tomato). I just couldn’t believe she said that but my burger was really good. And I had sweet potato fries. Later I made the oatmeal banana cookies again! Yum!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

