Smoothies, Scrambles, BLTs and Quesadillas

Breakfast

We usually eat grains and fruit for breakfast, but today I was craving something savory.   I had my leftover fajitas from last night, so I chopped up those veggies (zucchini, summer squash, onion, red bell pepper and portabella mushrooms) and sauteed them with a touch of olive oil.  I crumbled 1block of pressed tofu (click here if you don’t know how to press tofu) to the mix and added 1 tbsp nutritional yeast, 1/4 tsp ground tumeric and 2 tsp Bragg’s Liquid Aminos (or vegan soy sauce or tamari).  I let it cook for about 10 minutes, stirring every so often so that it doesn’t stick, but leaving it alone enough to allow the tofu to brown a bit.  Once done, I filled a whole wheat tortilla with the tofu/veggie mixture, the leftover cilantro lime rice and the black beans from last night and rolled it up.  Topped it with a bit of vegan sour cream (Tofutti) and cherry tomatoes fresh from our garden.  It totally hit the spot!

Image

ImageImage

I also whipped up some green smoothies.  These were a big hit the kids

Peach Mango Spinach Smoothie (serves approx. 3)

  • 2 cups unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 cup frozen peaches
  • 1cup frozen mango chunks
  • 1 banana
  • 2 large handfulls fresh spinach

Blend all ingredients in a high speed blender and enjoy!

ImageNever mind the three straws…I shared mine with my 18 month old twin girls….and then refilled my glass just for me!

Lunch

We brought in our first large tomato from the garden yesterday (we’ve had cherry tomatoes for weeks now) and ever since I saw that red beauty I’ve been craving a BLT.  I didn’t have any tempeh bacon on hand, so instead I fried up several pieces of the seitan pepperoni from pizza night and layered that with lettuce and tomatoes both fresh from the garden on whole wheat toasted bread slathered with Veganaise.  Delish!!

Image

Image

Image

Snack

This afternoon, both M and I were jonesing for a snack.  I found an easy recipe from Welcoming Kitchen and had to try it.  It is loosely based on the recipe in the link.  I couldn’t find the actual cookbook recipe online.

  • 1/2 cup sunflower seed butter
  • 1/4 cup agave syrup
  • 1/2 cup oat flour
  • 1 cup crispy rice cereal

I didn’t have any crispy rice cereal, but I did have puffed rice cereal and Grape Nuts.  I pulsed the puffed rice cereal in my food processor to chop them up a bit, but not turn them into flour, then added that to the Grape Nuts (so about 1/2 cup of each cereal).

Combine sunflower seed butter and agave syrup in a large bowl.  Thoroughly mix in the oat flour.  Stir in the cereal.

The recipe from Welcoming Kitchen said to form the dough into balls, but I couldn’t be bothered with that.  I pressed the mixture into an 8×8 brownie pan.  Bake 8-10 minutes in a 350 degree oven .

Yum!  Unfortunately, no picture.  We were too busy eating them up!  Perhaps tomorrow.

Dinner

Black Bean and Sweet Potato Quesadillas from My Beef With Meat by Rip Esselstyn.  Side note, if you aren’t convinced a Whole Foods Plant Strong diet is the way to go, I HIGHLY suggest you read this book.  It’s a very quick read, to the point and written so anyone can understand it.  And the best part is that it contains 140 plant strong recipes to get you started.  Go read it!

Image

Image

ImageServed with a side of Edamame Guacamole.  Pick your favorite guacamole recipe and replace 1/2 the avocado with edamame.  My 5 year old went crazy for this…eating it with a spoon!

Workout

70 squats

One thought on “Smoothies, Scrambles, BLTs and Quesadillas

  1. Nirvana

    Breakfast: green kale smoothie again (it’s my go to)
    Lunch: lentils leftovers, quacamole, chia pudding and one of my oatmeal banana cookies.
    Snacked on apples and whole wheat pita with almond butter while making dinner… I was hungry!
    Dinner: pizza night! Sprouted whole wheat tortilla with marinera pizza sauce, peppers zucchini and onion. No cheese for me :).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

