Weekend Recap – Awesome Vegan Eats in Madison, WI

I’ve got some catching up to do.  I have been in Madison, WI the last two days.  I was having such a good time relaxing, catching up with great girlfriends, and devouring some amazing vegan food that I didn’t even think to take pictures of anything.  It was a much needed break from reality.

Friday was leftovers all day long, so not much to report there.

Saturday started off at the Madison Farmers Market and it was awesome!  We bought raspberries, blueberries, cherries and sugar snap peas and munched on all of that while we walked the square admiring all the fresh produce.

We ate lunch at Monty’s Blue Plate Diner which had tons of vegan options.  I had the TNT BLT with tempeh bacon, lettuce and tomato on Rye bread and I had them add avocado as well.  The bean salad on the side…super vinegary and awesome!  Even the carnivores in the group admitted that the tempeh bacon was really good!  They had so many other yummy sounding options.  I would definitely go back there again and I suggest that you go too if you are in the area.

Dinner was at Cafe Porta Alba.  I started with the Emiliana Insalate (no parm)…delicious.  Then I had the Vegetariana Pizza with no cheese or olives (I simply dislike olives…has nothing to do with being vegan).  They were very generous with the veggies…especially the mushrooms.  It was great!

Sunday

This morning we had brunch at the Green Owl Cafe.  I started with a Cinnamon Roll…a little dry, but tasty, and then had the Breakfast Sandwich (pan fried tofu, Daiya cheese and a vegan sausage patty on an English Muffin) accompanied by oven roasted rosemary garlic red potatoes.  It was all delicious and I ate every bite!  Their lunch menu looks awesome too.  Madison rocks for vegan eating options.  I wish I was there longer to try more!

My husband made dinner tonight and had it waiting when I got home.  He made pasta with a homemade tomato sauce that consisted of crushed tomatoes, onion, red bell pepper, banana pepper and basil.  He served it up with garlic bread topped with Daiya mozzarella shreds.  I was SUPER impressed with this dinner.  It tasted great and I was very flattered that he went through the trouble to make a vegan dinner when I wasn’t even home yet and could have easily fended for myself.  Props to the hubby!

Workout

Friday, I did 75 squats

Yesterday, I did 80 squats, 50 pushups, and 25 tricep dips all before leaving for Madison at 8am.

Today, was a rest day.

Tomorrow, I must get back on the cardio bandwagon….it’s been a few days.

Hope you all had an amazing weekend like I did (though I missed my family much).  Happy 18 month birthday to my twinnie girls today!

2 thoughts on “Weekend Recap – Awesome Vegan Eats in Madison, WI

  1. Nirvana

    Sounds like you had a good weekend! My updates are behind too…
    Nothing new to report for ya…just a bunch of leftovers for me for the past few days. Today, however, I had my long run (14M!) so I made my own electrolyte drink. Water, fresh lemon and fresh lime juice and sea salt. It was pretty good and helped keep me going. I did use the organic pure honey gu again as I didn’t have time to make and try some snacks from the no meat athlete blog. For lunch a sandwich and for dinner I made the ps chorizo patties with polenta fries. I liked everything and the family ate it too. The kids were more hesitant that their burger looked different but they ate it knowing their dessert was at stake 🙂

    Reply
    1. sebestyen2 Post author

      Good for you on 14 miles! Thankfully, it’s cooled off some.
      Those polenta fries were awesome, right? And so easy.
      I want to go back to Madison just to eat again!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

