Awesome Kidney Bean Salad

Breakfast

Blueberry Banana Oatmeal

Image

Lunch

We had a picnic lunch at the park today with friends.  I packed Sunflower Seed Butter and Fig Jelly Sandwiches for the kids, fresh from the garden cucumber slices and grapes.  I also packed myself a Kidney Bean Salad that I made last night.  It was so good!!  A bit reminiscent of the Dill Cucumber Salads you are probably familiar with, but this had more veggies and, of course, the beans.  It was based loosely on this recipe.  I used Veganaise and Lemon Juice (about 2 tbsp each) along with the spices for my dressing.  I did not have any onions so I left that out and added in one chopped cucumber and 4 sliced radishes.  It was excellent!  It would also be great with fresh dill and/or chopped sweet bell peppers.

Image

Once the girls were napping when we got home, M and I made our fave Peanut Butter Banana Smoothies to hold us over til dinner.

Dinner

I haven’t been to the store since 2 weeks ago, so we are kind of scrounging around here.  I had a Pillsbury refrigerated pizza crust in the fridge (which just happens to be vegan), so I made a quick cheese pizza with tomato sauce, oregano and Daiya Mozzarella Shreds.  And we finished off the rest of the Kidney Bean Salad too.  I likely won’t get a chance to go to the grocery store until late Saturday or Sunday, so the next few days should be interesting.  Let’s see if I can get creative with pantry items!

Workout

2.9 mile jog on the treadmill

110 squats

And pushing the double stroller with 40lbs of children in it plus all of our stuff up and down the hills at the park/petting zoo for about an hour.

One thought on “Awesome Kidney Bean Salad

  1. Nirvana

    I’m behind again 🙂 ok so today I had another kale banana smoothie for breakfast and toast. Lunch was veggies in a pita and blueberries. Dinner was brown rice penne pasta with homemade creamy basil pesto (used silken tofu) topped with artichokes and cherry tomatoes from the garden. Ran to work today and back home and drank loads of water today! The other nights have not been any new recipes or anything. Just leftovers yesterday and finishing up those ps chorizo burgers and fries.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

