Oatmeal Peanut Butter Balls – You Must Try These!

Breakfast

M had swim lessons this morning, so we needed to eat quick to get everyone out the door.  It was a cold cereal kind of morning.  I mixed Grape Nut Flakes, Cheerios and Raw Oats with a huge handful of fresh blueberries and half of a banana and topped it all off with some unsweetened rice milk.  Yum!

Image

Lunch

Matthew begged for Panera for lunch today and since it was rainy and cold outside, driving to Panera seemed like a better idea than being cooped up in the house with three kids.  I had the Garden Vegetable soup (no pesto) and the Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich on Rye (no feta).  No pics, but I assume most of you know what Panera is and what these things look like.

Snack

After my run this afternoon, I was feeling hungry and it was still several hours until dinner.  I cut up a small apple and dipped each slice in peanut butter as I ate it. Who needs candy when you have peanut butter!?!  🙂

Image

Dinner

Roasted Corn and Basil Farro Salad.  Never tried farro?  Learn more about this ancient grain here.  Not only is it delicious at dinner time, but it also makes a wonderful hot breakfast cereal (with strawberries or peaches, a little agave and maybe a splash of soy or almond milk).  Changes I made from the original recipe:  I used red wine vinegar instead of sherry vinegar.  (This would also be dynamite with balsamic vinegar!).  I added in a good handful of sliced fresh cherry tomatoes straight from the garden because we just have so many!  And I also added one can of drained and rinsed Great Northern Beans.  This dish turned out really good and all 3 kids loved it as well!  That’s a keeper!

Image

Another snack

Apparently, I just couldn’t get enough peanut butter or oats today.  After I put the kids to bed, I wanted something a little sweet.  I saw this recipe on Facebook the other day and made some changes to suit my diet and tastes.  This recipe made 24.  I have no idea what a serving should be, but I am certain that I definitely ate more than one serving.  So good!

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Balls

  • 2 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup peanut butter (the only ingredient in your PB should be peanuts!!!)
  • 1/4 cup agave syrup
  • 1/4 cup flaxseed meal
  • Several dashes of cinnamon
  • Handful of dried cherries (about 1/4 cup maybe…I didn’t measure this)

Mix all ingredients in large bowl.  With wet hands, roll into balls.  Devour!

ImageImage

Workout

3.1 mile run on the treadmill

130 squats (wow, they are definitely getting harder!)

25 burpees

2 thoughts on “Oatmeal Peanut Butter Balls – You Must Try These!

  1. Pingback: Not much to report today | veggieinspiredjourney

  2. Pingback: Recap of Sunday | veggieinspiredjourney

Leave a Reply

