Veggies, veggies and more veggies

Breakfast

I had intended to make hot cereal with farro, but when I looked in my pantry I only had about 1/4 cup left…not enough for me and the kids too.  So, I opted for quinoa instead.  Quinoa is considered a superfood…learn more about it here.  It’s a seed, not a grain (though it’s used like one), is gluten free, high in protein (a complete protein, in fact) and low in calories.   I cooked 1 cup of quinoa according to package directions.  Once all the water was absorbed, I added enough unsweetened unflavored soy milk to give it a creamy consistency, 1 cup of fresh sliced strawberries (I got these from the farm just down the street from us….they are known for their strawberries….so good!), cinnamon and some chopped pecans for crunch.

Image

Lunch

Our garden is overflowing with tomatoes these days and I picked up  some avocados at the grocery store this weekend.  I can think of nothing better on a sandwich than tomato and avocado…and a little vegan mayo.  I also added some of the Roasted Red Pepper Hummus from the other day cause I still had a bit left.  Put it all on toasted Sprouted Sesame bread.  Delish!!!

Image

Dinner

I have been craving veggies lately.  We eat a lot of veggies every day, but they are usually cooked into stirfrys, casseroles, pasta sauces, burgers, risottos, etc.  I just wanted to eat some veggies….unadulterated veggies!  So, tonight, we started with a big healthy salad.  This Pea and Sunflower Seed Salad.  I left out the bacon because I didn’t have any…it was not missed.  This salad was soooo good.  It is reminiscent of the Layered Pea Salads I remember from my childhood.  I always loved this salad…the one with lettuce, cheese, bacon and green peas in a creamy dressing.  Most of the kids passed this salad right on by, but I loved it!  This is the healthy version (well, the dressing is made with mayo…vegan mayo…but still it’s mayo).  Then we loaded our plates with huge baked potatoes, corn on the cob from the local farm down the street and fresh green beans.  I used only a tiny bit of Earth Balance spread on my corn and sprinkled some Nutritional Yeast on my baked potato, but other than that, they were just pure, fresh, wonderful veggies!  YUM!  I think I might go back for seconds on that salad as soon as I’m done typing this.

ImageI even broke out my super heavy glass bowl so you could see the beautiful layers.

ImageHere it is all tossed up in the bowl it’s currently being stored in.   I kept the dressing separate so it doesn’t get mushy.

ImageImageThe creamy vegan dressing.

Image

Workout

3.14 mile run on the treadmill

Rest day for the 30 Day Squat Challenge

2 thoughts on “Veggies, veggies and more veggies

  1. Nirvana

    Sorry, I haven’t been posting for ya! Either left overs or simple meals here but tonight I made the BBQ lentil oat loaf from my beef with meat and loved it! Also the thank god it’s not Friday restuffed potatoes. Those were good but spicy! And a glass of red wine. Yum! Now I have a sweet tooth but I might just have a glass of vanilla soy milk before I go to bed 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

