My kids never cease to amaze me.

Breakfast

Banana Ginger Pancakes with diced nectarine and kiwi.  I’ve posted these Banana Ginger Pancakes before.  They are so good and so easy.  The kids love them…and I do too.  I added about a tbsp of unsweetened cocoa powder this time and it was a big hit.

ImageImage

Lunch

My kids have always been good eaters, especially my 5 year old.  He loves fruits and veggies and beans.  He has never turned down a green salad.  But, even so, if given the choice between those things and PB&J, Mac n Cheese, hot dogs or cookies, he would usually pick the latter.  So, when I asked him what he wanted for lunch today, imagine my surprise when he requested the leftover Pea and Sunflower Seed Salad.  He then also had 1/2 of a baked potato, a handful of Wheat Thins dipped in Roasted Red Pepper Hummus and a whole bunch of fresh green beans.  I also ate all of these things for my lunch as well.  We now have no more leftovers from last nights dinner!

Dinner

We started with Kale Salad with Curried Almond Dressing.  This was another outstanding salad.  The dressing was a little sweet with just a hint of curry.  I used dried cherries instead of cranberries ’cause that’s what I had in the pantry.  Delicious!

We then moved on to the main course of Vegetable Stew served over Creamy Polenta by Kim Lutz of Welcoming Kitchen.

Creamy Polenta (serves 4)

  • 1 1/2 cups rice milk
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup course cornmeal
  • salt and pepper to taste

In a medium saucepan, combine rice milk, water and olive oil.  Bring to a boil.  Whisk in cornmeal and salt and pepper.  Cook over medium heat, stirring frequently, until polenta pulls away from the sides of the pot.

Vegetable Polenta

  • 2 recipes (8 servings) Creamy Polenta (see above)
  • 6 sun-dried tomato halves
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 bunch broccoli florets, chopped
  • 1 15 oz can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 28 oz can fire-roasted diced tomatoes

Prepare polenta according to recipe directions.

Cover sun-dried tomatoes with boiling water.  Let sit 10 minutes or until tender.

Heat olive oil in a large skillet or saute pan.  Over medium-high heat cook garlic, onion, and green pepper for 2-3 minutes or until beginning to soften.

Remove sun-dried tomato halves from water and slice.

Add tomatoes and broccoli florets to pan.  Cook for 5 minutes or until broccoli is tender, not mushy.  Add beans and fire-roasted tomatoes and heat through, about 3 more minutes.

Spoon over polenta.

ImageImage

I meant to take a picture of the veggie polenta before I stirred everything together, but I was too excited to dig in and forgot.  It tastes much better than this pic appears!

M, who is 5, LOVED the Kale Salad and had seconds.  He didn’t seem to care for the vegetable polenta.  My bitty girls, who are 18 months, loved the veggie polenta.  I didn’t give them the kale salad as I thought it would be too tough for them to eat.  I loved it all!

Workout

150 squats

30 minutes Tae Bo DVD

And this workout on found on Pinterest:

  • 20 Jumping Jacks
  • 20 Squats
  • 20 Pushups
  • 20 Jumping Jacks
  • 20 High Knees
  • 20 Alternating Lunges
  • 20 Pushups
  • 20 Situps
  • 20 Squats
  • 20 Mountain Climbers
  • 20 Stationary Lunges

My legs are definitely on fire today!

One thought on “My kids never cease to amaze me.

  1. Pingback: Banana Pumpkin Spice Pancakes | veggieinspiredjourney

Leave a Reply

