Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies and Squat Challenge Comes to an End

Today was day 30 of the 30 Day Squat Challenge.  That means I have  done 3,295 squats in the last 30 days.  That’s probably more than I did in the entire year of 2012…by a lot!  It was a good challenge and I could feel the burn in my legs.  Next up, the 30 Day Plank Challenge.  This one looks HARD!

I made these cookies the other day, and in fact, I make them quite a bit.  They are really easy and super yummy!  Sometimes, if they’re lucky, I even let my kids eat one or two for breakfast with some fruit.  Instead of chocolate chips, I used Ghirardelli 70% Cacao Extra Bittersweet Chocolate Premium Baking Bar and chopped it up into chip size pieces.  I am a HUGE fan of dark chocolate….nothing better!  The original recipe is from Terry Walters Clean Food cookbook, but I adapted it slightly.  She used canola oil and I replaced it with applesauce.  She also calls for white flour or brown rice flour, but I used whole wheat flour.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 1 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt (contains iodine which table salt generally does not)
  • 3/4 cup maple syrup (PURE maple syrup)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup bittersweet dark chocolate chips (or raisins or dried cherries)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a large bowl, combine oats, flour, coconut, cinnamon and salt.  In separate bowl, whisk together syrup, applesauce and vanilla.  Pour wet ingredients into dry and stir until evenly combined.  Fold in walnuts and chocolate chips.  Press dough into equal-size balls, place onto parchment paper lined cookie sheet and bake 15 minutes or until lightly browned.  Remove from oven – and do your best not to eat them all in one sitting!

Makes 2 dozen

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

