Lemon Chia Pancakes

Today was the first day of Kindergarten for M.  I wanted to make him a special breakfast, but who has time to do that before the first day of school?  Not me, so I made them yesterday morning and we enjoyed them fresh from the griddle then and today we enjoyed the leftovers heated up for just a few seconds in the microwave.  It was every bit as special to M either way.

Image

Lemon Chia Pancakes

Click above for the recipe.  It comes from Sarah Matheny’s More Peas and and Thank You.  Her original cookbook, Peas and Thank You, I also love.  Both have quick and easy recipes from breakfast to dessert and everything in between.  All the recipes are very family friendly too!

ImageImage

I thought these were a touch dry, so we did serve them up with a drizzle of pure maple syrup.  They also weren’t very sweet, which is fine for us (especially if you are adding the maple syrup on top), so I think you could even leave out the sugar all together (there is only 1 tbsp in the whole recipe).  We had fresh peach slices on the side.  A bite of pancake with syrup and a bite of peach all on the same fork….devine!  I wish I would have taken a picture of that!  Plenty sweet and delicious!

Image

Enjoy!

And just for fun, here is a peak into M’s lunchbox.  He requested the black bean roll ups and peach slices.  I added the sugar snap peas and red pepper slices because he loves them.  I also added some grapes and a Cashew Cookie Larabar Mini.  I know it seems like a lot of food…and it probably is too much….but I wanted him to have some variety.  More importantly, it’s a long day and I really just wanted him to EAT.  I thought the more variety I gave him, the better the chance that he would fill his belly with some filling food that would last him until he gets off the bus EIGHT hours after he gets on!  We’ll see what the inside of the lunchbox looks like when he returns….

IMG_6337

Workout

I’m on day 10 of the 30 Day Plank Challenge.  60 seconds.  It was 60 seconds yesterday too.  Not too bad, but getting challenging.

Other than that, I did nothing today.  I am taking advantage of M being at school and the girls napping to get laundry done, vacuum the house, clean up toys, wash sheets, etc.  That stuff is a workout in itself anyway!

One thought on “Lemon Chia Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Welcome to The Lively Lunchbox | The Lively Lunchbox

Leave a Reply

