Finally a Vegan Mac and Cheese Worth Making!!!

I have been trying for YEARS to find a vegan mac and cheese that I actually like.  I don’t like to use vegan cheese because its not exactly health food and I just haven’t cared for any of the nutritional yeast based sauces that I’ve tried.  Don’t get me wrong, I love a good nooch sauce in other things, but I don’t think it works that well in mac n cheese.  I came across this recipe the other day while browsing Pinterest and I think you should all go make it RIGHT NOW!  It was WONDERFUL!  Creamy and golden in color…it was perfect!  The kids ate it right up.  The sauce is basically all veggies pureed up in the blender with a handful of cashews.  Nothing unhealthy about that!  I’m thinking this would make a great base for all those cheesy soups too (broccoli cheese, cheesy cauliflower…I’ll work on it and let you know!)  I served it up alongside some breaded baked zucchini sticks that we dipped in marinara sauce.  Yum!  A perfect first day of school dinner for my little Kindergartener!

The Best Vegan Mac and Cheese

I used butternut squash in place of the potatoes cause that’s what I had.  I’m glad I did because it gave it such a beautiful golden color.

Image

Baked Vegan Zucchini Fries

I didn’t have enough Panko bread crumbs to make a full 2 cups, so I added 1/2 cup regular bread crumbs and 1/2 cup cornmeal to the mix.  It was tasty!

Image

So yummy!!!

Image

Another look into my son’s lunchbox.  Today, was a good ol’ PB&J, red pepper slices (his fave veggie), orange slices, trail mix and that darn Cashew Cookie Larabar Mini from yesterday. He said he didn’t eat it because he didn’t know what it was.  They come in their own little individual packages and he’s used to seeing it that way, but I unwrapped it for him just in case he couldn’t get it open.  Once I told him what it was last night, he was bummed that he didn’t eat it, so I sent it again today.  The trail mix was a last minute addition.  I was going to leave that compartment empty, but he requested it at last minute so I added it in.

Image

I’m assuming he’s going to tackle that trail mix first, so I expect to get at least 1/2 of that sandwich back.  If I was thinking clearly this morning, I would have only sent half in the first place!

Workout

Besides my Plank Challenge, I haven’t done much working out this week.  I was busy getting M ready for school and running last minute errands.  But since today was school day #2, I had no excuses.  I met up with the local Mom’s group I belong too and walked nearly 4 miles this morning.  After putting the girls down for their nap this afternoon, I did 30 minutes of Tae Bo from a DVD and then a 90 second plank.  90 seconds doesn’t seem like a long time, but holy moly was that hard!!  I was groaning the last 15 seconds of that one!  Whew!

Ok, all, go make that Mac and Cheese!!!

Leave a Reply

