So many great recipes!

Well, I’ve been neglecting my blog lately.  It’s been a very busy few weeks, but I haven’t been neglecting my scrumptious meals. So, here are several to get your mouth watering.

SAVORY

Curried Quinoa and Wild Rice Savory Cakes

These little cakes were pretty good.  I served them with a non-dairy yogurt sauce alongside green peas and roasted carrots.  Easy peasy.

ImageImage

Southwestern Black Bean Salad and Creamy Coleslaw

I made the Black Bean Salad and used it as a taco filling.  I topped the tacos with a little vegan sour cream and served them in tortillas.  Alongside, I made the coleslaw, which could not have been easier.  Really yummy!!

ImageImageImage

Stuffed Pepper Enchiladas

These were great!  And what a great idea to stuff peppers with enchilada filling for a hearty low carb dinner.  I swapped out the zucchini for corn and I used actual dairy cheese….gasp!  I had some in the deli drawer because….well, there is no good excuse really….but since you know better, you will use Daiya shreds or better yet, just top it with some creamy avocado slices and you likely won’t miss the cheese anyway!

IMG_6914 IMG_6915 IMG_6916 IMG_6918

Chickpea Pesto Sandwich

I made this sandwich for lunch today after reading EVERY SINGLE blog post from Thug Kitchen.  He put his sandwich filling between two slices of bread, but I chose to wrap it up in a spinach tortilla with tomato slices fresh from the garden.  I have recently discovered Thug Kitchen and am in love with this blog.  Not only does he post wonderful whole food plant based vegan recipes, but he is HILARIOUS as well.  He uses some choice language, but it’s all in good fun….and in good health!  Check it out and once you stop laughing, go make some of his delicious recipes.

IMG_6920 IMG_6921 IMG_6923

SWEET

Maple Banana Bread Muffins

Delicious!  These were a huge hit with the kids too!

IMG_6847 IMG_6848 IMG_6849

Peach Almond Smoothie

I have been drinking this as I write this post.  I don’t have a pic because I was too busy slurping it down, but trust me, it’s great!

  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 very ripe banana
  • 1 cup frozen peaches
  • 2 tbsp almond butter
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • Handful of ice cubes

Blend well and enjoy!

More Lunchbox Inspiration (*Disclaimer, I don’t guarantee that lunches are 100% vegan)

IMG_6435

Whole wheat bagel w/ peanut butter and fig jelly on one…peanut butter and strawberry jelly on the other, string cheese, orange and red bell pepper slices, cubed cantaloupe and 3 small cinnamon shortbread cookies.

IMG_6443

A2Z muffin (from My Beef With Meat), orange slices, green peas and cubed cantaloupe.  I think I served this alongside a small thermos of leftover pasta marinara.

IMG_6846

Spinach tortilla rollups with turkey slices, cheese and bell peppers, raspberries and blueberries, wheat thins, pickle spear (in parchment paper) and cinnamon shortbread cookies.

IMG_6872

Almond butter and banana sandwich on sprouted rye bread, sugar snap peas, red and yellow bell pepper slices, raspberries and blueberries.

IMG_6882

Cinnamon raisin bagel, string cheese, leftover Southwestern Black Bean and Corn Salad (see above post), nectarine slices and a few chocolate chips.

IMG_6919

Almond butter on a cinnamon raisin english muffin, strawberries, cantaloupe, cucumber slices and a small piece of dark chocolate.

Workout

So, I have a confession to make….I haven’t been keeping up very well with my 30 Day Plank Challenge.  I think I got to day 20 and then missed a few days.  I have been running about 2-4 miles 3 days a week, walking 3-4 miles about twice a week and usually once a week I do a TaeBo DVD and full body circuit or tabata workout that I find on Pinterest.  Sometimes, I do those workouts on the days that I walk, so I still generally have 1-2 rest days as well.  But, I would still like to get back to my plank challenge.  So, I think I will just pick up with day 20 today and finish it out from here.  3 minutes is a LONG time to hold a plank and I found I just couldn’t do it the whole time. So, when I felt like I couldn’t hold it for a second longer, I would push up into downward dog for about 5 seconds and then drop back to plank and continue.  That worked out to about 2-3 downward dogs in a 3 minute span.

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

