Pesto Pasta w/ Vegan Sausage and Brussels Sprouts

This pasta recipe screams fall to me.  I’ve made it before and everyone loved it so I thought I’d give it another shot.  I cut my Brussels sprouts into 4ths, so they are easier for my kids to eat….plus this way they only take about 12-15 minutes to roast in the oven.  I used Tofurkey Kielbasa instead of the chicken sausage the recipe calls for.  (Tofurkey also makes an excellent Italian Sausage with sun dried tomatoes that would be awesome in this).  The pesto I threw together with what I had on hand:  3-4 big handfuls of fresh spinach, 2 palmfuls of raw pepitas, a couple tablespoons of nutritional yeast (you could use Parmesan if you are not vegan)…get it all going in a food processor and lightly drizzle in some Extra Virgin Olive Oil until it reaches pesto consistency.  I didn’t measure anything when I made it, so that’s the best I can do with the recipe for pesto.  You can use any green or herb and any nut or seed…just use what you like and experiment.  I had some leftover roasted cauliflower so I threw that in straight from the fridge once everything else was done and combined.  Delish!

Pesto Pasta w/ Sausage and Brussels Sprouts

Image

My 5 year old suddenly decided tonight that he doesn’t like Brussels sprouts or sausage, so even though he liked the noodles and pesto, he only ate a couple bites and then refused the rest.  My 1.5 year old twins, however, loved this.  C downed two bowls in record time!  K picked out all the sausage and ate the rest.  Once I offered her a piece of sausage from MY fork, she tried it and LIKED it…then proceeded to eat the rest of HER sausage.  Wow!  Sometimes, all it takes is a new perspective…from Mommy’s fork!  And, honestly, since everything is green and I cut the sprouts so small, you couldn’t tell what was a noodle and what was a Brussels sprouts.  So, if your kids think they don’t like them, maybe give this recipe a try.  Of course, once they bite into it they won’t be fooled, but maybe they will decide they like it!  After all, isn’t simply getting into their mouth 90% of the battle anyway?

Lunchbox Love  (*Not vegan)

Image

Triscuit crackers, mozzerella cheese, applesauce, carrot sticks, cucumber slices, nectarine slices and a few raw cashews and dark chocolate chips for a little treat.

Leave a Reply

