Happy New Year! A lucky meal of Black Eyed Peas, Greens and Cornbread!

I love ringing in the new year with some of the foods considered to be lucky if eaten on this day.  See THIS article for 10 different lucky foods and the reasoning behind them.  We had two lucky food for lunch as I made fettucine (long noodles for longevity) with lentil bolognese (lentils for wealth because they resemble coins).  I’ll post this recipe tomorrow as I forgot to take a picture this afternoon.  Luckily, I made a HUGE batch and have tons of leftovers, so I’ll try to remember to snap a pic tomorrow because it was really good!

Tonight’s meal was Creole Black Eyed Peas courtesy of Susan Voisin at Fat Free Vegan, Sauteed Garlic Greens courtesy of Clean Food by Terry Walters and Maple Cornbread courtesy of The Kind Life by Alicia Silverstone.

I  couldn’t find a link to the Sauteed Garlic Greens, so here it is.  But definitely go check out Terry Walters website/blog or her cookbooks…she and her recipes are AWESOME!  Greens are considered lucky because their color and texture resemble paper money.  Who couldn’t use a little more wealth, right?

Sauteed Garlic Greens from Clean Food by Terry Walters

2 bunches dark leafy greens (kale, collards, mustard greens, dandelion greens or chard…or a combo of any of these)

3 garlic cloves, minced

2 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 tbsp mirin

Sea salt or ume plum vinegar

Remove dry stalk ends from greens and chop leaves into bite-sized pieces.  In Dutch oven or skillet over medium-low heat, saute garlic in 1 tbsp olive oil for 2-3 minutes until soft.  Add greens and mirin and saute 1 minute.  Increase heat to medium, add water as needed to prevent sticking, cover and cook until greens break down.  Remove from heat and toss with remaining tbsp olive oil.  Season to taste with salt or a few dashes of vinegar and serve.  Serves 6.

Image

I had planned to use a mixture of kale and red swiss chard, but ended up using collard greens because I found a huge bag of pre-washed and chopped collards at Walmart and I just couldn’t resist the convenience of that.  I finished my greens with a few dashes of balsamic vinegar instead of salt or ume plum vinegar.

Image

I have posted about Alicia Silverstone’s cornbread recipe before and I’m telling you it’s the best I’ve ever eaten.  You must try this recipe.  Cornbread’s golden color resembles gold and therefore considered lucky.

ImageImage

This is the second time I’ve made this Black Eye Pea recipe from Fat Free Vegan.  This could be served over rice, which is how the rest of my family ate it.  I opted for the straight up version.  It was a hit the first time and it did not disappoint this time around either.  We all cleaned our plates.  Black eyed peas are considered good luck because of their penny-like appearance and abundance.

ImageImage

Thanks to everyone who has stopped by to read my little blog in the last 6 months!  I hope you all had a fun New Year’s Eve and a great start to your New Year.  Here’s to health, wealth and good times in 2014!

Leave a Reply

