Butternut Squash Corn Chowder and Coconut Banana Bread

I absolutely love soup and when the temperature outside is -14 (not including windchill) there is nothing I would rather eat.  I was craving soup so badly the other day around lunch time that I happily waited until about 2p to eat lunch just so I could whip up at batch. This soup satisfied all of my cravings; it was so good!!  I purposely made a big batch so I could enjoy it for several days.  I think I might have enough for one serving left and I can’t wait for lunchtime today!

Image

Please excuse the poor photo.  It was an afterthought after I’d already eaten half of the bowl.  I promise it tastes so much better than it looks!

Butternut Squash Corn Chowder

  • 16oz bag of organic frozen corn (I’m sure fresh corn would be even more amazing in this!)
  • 1 small butternut squash, peeled and chopped
  • 1 large sweet onion, diced
  • 2 small potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 6 cups vegetable stock
  • 1 can navy beans (or other white bean), drained and rinsed
  • 1 tsp dried sage
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 2 tsp seasoned salt
  • 1 tsp dried sage
  • 2 tsp extra virgin olive oil

In large stockpot over medium high heat, saute diced onion in olive oil until translucent.  Add diced squash, potatoes and corn and saute 3-4 minutes.  Add vegetable stock and seasonings and increase heat to high.  Once mixture comes to a boil, lower heat to medium and cook uncovered for about 12-15 minutes until squash and potatoes are tender.  Add half of the can of beans and simmer a few more minutes.  Turn off heat and with a handheld immersion blender, puree soup until about 3/4 of the pot is pureed (or to the consistency of your liking…I wanted it fairly smooth).  Add in the remaining half can of beans and stir to heat through.  I wanted some whole beans left in the end, thus why I added these at the end, but you can certainly add them all at once if you want it smoother.

Enjoy!

On to the next yummy recipe!

I had some bananas sitting on the counter that were brown and spotty yesterday.  I usually slice these up and freeze them for smoothies or “ice cream,” but  I already have some of those in my freezer, so decided to bake something instead.  I found this delicious looking recipe on Pinterest and it sounded so good!

Eggless Banana Coconut Cream Loaf  Image

The batter was quite thick and I thought this bread was going to turn out really dense, but it is surprisingly moist and light.  Neither the banana nor the coconut overwhelm and it was the perfect after dinner treat with a cup of green tea once the kiddos were all asleep!

ImageImage

On tap for dinner tonight are Pumpkin Enchiladas, a recipe from My Whole Food Life.  They sound so yummy.  I hope they turn out  great.  I’ll be sure to let you know.

One thought on “Butternut Squash Corn Chowder and Coconut Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Coconut and Butternut Squash Soup « Keitochan Says:

Leave a Reply

