Pumpkin Enchiladas

When I first saw this recipe on My Whole Food Life, I KNEW I had to try it.  It took me awhile to get around to making it, but I finally did and it was delicious!  I love all things pumpkin, sweet and savory.  This is a wonderful savory option.  I took the easy way out and used canned pumpkin and canned diced tomatoes.  I simply added everything to a pot and let it simmer away for about an hour to let all the flavors blend.  I’ve even made similar “cheese” sauces before without first having soaked my cashews and they turn out just fine (if you have a high speed blender or food processor).  So, if you want something quick and easy, this actually could be a good option if you take some shortcuts.  I think it’s just as good!

Pumpkin Enchiladas

Image

I used enchilada sauce on the bottom of my baking dish and again over the top of the enchiladas.  I also drizzled some of the “cheese” sauce over the top of that.  

Image

I did like the addition of the pistachio dust, but I don’t think it was a make-it-or-break deal.  These would be great without if you don’t have pistachios.  Avocado would also be a nice addition.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

