Vegan Cauliflower Bolognese

When you are eating a vegan, or even a vegetarian diet, its easy to fall back on pasta a lot.  And who doesn’t love pasta?  My kids certainly do and so do my husband and I.  I do, however, like to mix up the type of sauce I serve it with, espcially trying to sneak in more veggies whenever possible.  I found this recipe for Cauliflower Bolognese and thought it would be the perfect substitute for a “meaty” sauce.

Vegan Cauliflower Bolognese

Image

I used kale instead of spinach because I already had some in the fridge.  I pureed the mixture with a handheld immersion blender, leaving small bits of cauliflower, but no big chunks.  The kids devoured this…even my son who claims not to like cauliflower.  He had no idea it was in there and I wasn’t about to tell him.  🙂  I thought it was really good too!

Image

I used a 28oz can of crushed tomatoes instead of the 14oz in the recipe and I thought it was perfect.  And we had plenty of leftovers for once…even after everyone had seconds, and in some cases, thirds.

I served it over whole wheat macaroni noodles.  Give it a try!

Image

Leave a Reply

