Cauliflower Coconut Masala

I have always loved cauliflower.  It’s my favorite on a veggie tray just straight up raw.  I remember my mom making cauliflower when I was growing up.  She would boil it until tender, drain it and toss it with butter and breadcrumbs.   When served we would drizzle it with apple cider vinegar.  Sounds weird, but it’s soooo good.  Just this past January, I found myself in Nashville, TN, enjoying a cauliflower “steak” as my main course.  It was honestly one of the best things I’ve ever eaten.  Ever since, I have been looking for ways to make cauliflower my main dish.  I was super excited when I came across this recipe on Pinterest the other day.  It was last night’s dinner and although my 5 year old wasn’t convinced of it’s awesomeness, the rest of us were.

Cauliflower Coconut Masala (click for link to recipe)

Image

I served it with jasmine rice and sweet green peas.  Side note: I had no idea how much C (one of my 2yr olds) loved peas until last night.  I throw peas in a lot of dishes I make, but this was maybe the first time I put them on her dish as a side all by themselves.  She had 3 generous helpings and continued to ask for more.  Note taken…more peas for dinner!  I kind of stirred everything together in my bowl.  It was delicious!

Image

This is a very hearty meal.  It will fill you up with not a lot of calories.  The sauce was a little spicy, but sweet at the same time.  So yum!  Even hubby liked it.

Did you know?

Cauliflower is very high in Vitamin C, Vitamin K, folate and fiber.  It has ani-immflamotory properties and lots of antioxidents.  And an entire medium size head of cauliflower weighs in at less than 150 calories!!  Image

Eat up and enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

