Lentil and Quinoa Stuffed Cabbage Rolls (Vegan)

Growing up with Polish relatives, I am no stranger to Golabki (stuffed cabbage rolls).  Traditionally, cabbage rolls are stuffed with ground beef, white rice, tomato sauce (usually made from condensed tomato soup) and cheese.  They were seriously delicious!  As a kid, while I liked the cabbage okay, it was really the filling I craved.  I remember asking my mom to sometimes make only the filling because it was obviously much quicker without having to stuff and then bake the cabbage rolls.  Yum!

Once I started my own family and started to be more concerned about what we put into our bodies this is how I saw those cabbage rolls:  saturated fat, simple carbs, chemicals and cholesterol.  Ugh.  The good news is that you CAN have your cabbage roll and eat it too.  🙂

Over the years, I’ve tried several different recipes with nutritious filling, but the one I tried yesterday is by far is my favorite.  My 5 year old unwrapped the cabbage roll and ate only the filling (that’s still a win in my book!), my two 2yr olds ate all of it  and my hubby and I enjoyed every last bite as well.

Image

 

Lentil and Quinoa Stuffed Cabbage Rolls (Vegan)

This were super easy to make.  The filling came together quickly and filling and rolling the cabbage is much easier than it seems.  I didn’t even use toothpicks to hold them together.  My leaves were big enough that I rolled them several times and placed them seam side down in the casserole dish.

Image

I don’t even think I need to tell you how nutritious this lentil/quinoa/kale stuffing is, but if you need more convincing, here you go:

Lentils: high in fiber, folate, magnesium, iron and protein

Quinoa:  a complete protein, good source of heart healthy fats, high in folate, zinc and phosphorus

Kale:  very high in Vitamins K, A and C, anti-inflammatory and antioxident benefits

The cabbage itself is high in Vitamins K and C and also has anti-inflammatory and antioxident benefits. And the tomato sauce will give you Vitamins C and E and of course Lycopene.

From start to finish, this recipe is a nutritional powerhouse.

Image

Polish or not, you will love these!  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

