Crispy Breaded Tofu

I have tried so many yummy recipes lately that I had a hard time choosing which one to post first.  I decided on this Crispy Breaded Tofu because the WHOLE family loved it…even those that proclaim they don’t like tofu (M, our 5 year old for example).  He, along with C and K, our 2 yr old twins, all asked for seconds!  Hubby ate all of his first serving and went back for more veggies, but opted against a 2nd helping of tofu…but did I mention that he ate ALL of his first serving?!  That’s a win all around in my book.

Tofu

So, a little about tofu first.  Soy is a controversial food.  Soy is one of the most genetically modified foods out there and MOST of the soy the average person consumes comes in an extremely processed form.  Not good!  However, whole food forms of soy that have not been genetically engineered do have some amazing health benefits.  Tofu is very high in calcium and protein and has a good dose of healthy fats and iron too.  Non-gmo tofu is said to have cardiovascular benefits as well as cancer prevention benefits.

On a separate note, I find it ironic that most carnivores like to point out to vegan/plant based eaters the controversial issues surrounding soy foods while ingesting their sugar, cholesterol and saturated fat laden foods and chasing it down with a chemical laced syrupy beverage.  But, I digress……

Crispy Breaded Tofu

First you must press and slice your tofu.  If you’ve never pressed tofu before, learn how to do so here.  I doubled the recipe (in the link above) since one recipe of anything these days does not suffice for our family of five.  You will likely get 6 slices out of one block (so 12 for two blocks).  I cut one of my slices in half again (thus, the 13 pieces) because I thought the girls would eat smaller portions…I was WRONG!

Image

 

Then set up your breading station.

Image

I used unsweetened organic soy milk in place of the soy milk creamer and a mix of almond meal and nutritional yeast in place of the all purpose flour.  (If you are gluten-free, that would be a good option for you too…but you’d also have to leave off the Panko breadcrumbs).

After the “milk” and “flour” stations, this is what you will have:

Image

 

Dip once again into the “milk” and then into the Panko and fry those slices up!  It will look like this:

Image

Just try and tell me that doesn’t look delicious!!!  So crispy on the outside, firm but moist on the inside.  Mmmmmmm.

I served it up with mashed potatoes, corn and broccoli.  The kids dipped their crispy tofu in ketchup.  BBQ sauce would be good too.  I found it didn’t need anything extra though.  Perfection!

Image

Image

 

Be on the lookout for some more delicious recipes in the next week or so.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

