Quinoa Chickpea Patties and Veggie Lentil Loaf

I know I promised lots of yummy recipes last time I posted, but then life got in the way.  We just got done putting new countertops and flooring in our kitchen.  Everything in the kitchen was moved into the dining room and living room and conveniently placed right in front of my computer cabinet.  Even if I could have gotten to my computer I was entirely way too busy the last week and a half.  The kitchen is done (I LOVE it) and we are now getting back to our normal routine.  I’m excited to get back into the kitchen and start cooking again. Entirely too much take-out was devoured while the kitchen was a mess.

To make it up to you, I’m posting TWO recipes today.  Both of these were great and my kids loved them both!  I was hesitant about the veggie loaf because I’ve tried some in the past that the family wasn’t too keen on.  Shockingly, the kids ate this one with gusto, asked for seconds and never questioned what was in it!  WooHoo!  Sadly, I don’t have a picture of it because I forgot to take pics the day we originally ate it and what little leftovers we had kind of fell apart.  But, it was delicious none the less.

Here is the link to the Veggie Lentil Loaf.  I left out the fennel and I totally forgot to make the sauce.  I served it with ketchup for the kids and I ate it as is with no sauce.

Now for the Chickpea Quinoa Patties.  These were super easy.  I have been trying to get away from eating so many grains.  This recipe is gluten-free as well as vegan and plant strong.  I’ve talked about quinoa before and it’s many health benefits, but chickpeas are also a nutritional powerhouse.  The mighty chickpea is high in folate, fiber, protein and iron.  You can easily sneak other veggies into these patties if desired.  I think shredded carrot or spinach would be a great addition.  I put everything into the food processor and mixed it all together, so I didn’t have any big chunks of veggies.  I thought they would stay together better that way, but I have to warn you that these patties were quite delicate.  I found making them about the diameter of a sillver dollar pancake, but thicker, worked pretty well.

Image

 

Like I said before, the kids devoured both of these recipes.  Give them a try!

 

Leave a Reply

