Beet Burgers

I hope you all had a wonderful Independence Day.  We spent the daytime with relatives and the evening with neighbors.  Super fun day all around.

Well, I’m promised a beet burger recipe and here it is. If I’m being honest, however, I didn’t care for these all that much. Before being cooked the mixture looked amazingly like raw hamburger meat and held together really well. I had high hopes. They were fine, but I have made many a veggie burger that I liked better. These get rave reviews online though, so if you are a risk-taker, you might just want to give them a try.

Quarter Pounder Beet Burger from PPK

IMG_1038

I served it alongside a pasta salad inspired by Veganomicon’s Brooklyn Deli Macaroni Salad.  I have made this salad numerous times as is and it is DELICIOUS, but this time I made a few changes.  I added more vinegar (I really love vinegar), dijon mustard, shredded zucchini instead of radishes and left out the peas.  So good!

Vegan Macaroni Pasta Salad

Dressing:

  • 3/4 cup Vegenaise
  • 1/2 cup white vinegar
  • 1 tbsp sugar (I used coconut sugar)
  • 2 tbsp dijon mustard
  • pinch of salt and pepper

Salad:

  • 1 lb package macaroni noodles
  • 3-4 medium carrots, peeled and grated
  • 1 medium zucchini, grated

Cook the macaroni noodles according to package directions.  Set aside to cool.  While noodles are cooling, whisk your dressing ingredients in a bowl (or simply shake vigorously in a mason jar with lid).  Add grated veggies to noodles, top with dressing and mix thoroughly.  Eat immediately or refrigerate until serving.

This makes quite a bit and is perfect for a potluck or backyard BBQ.  So yum!!

IMG_1040

Which plant based foods did you enjoy at your July 4th celebration?

I’m still looking for more suggestions on which fruits, veggies, grains, etc., you would like to see featured here.  Please keep all ideas and suggestions coming my way!

 

2 thoughts on “Beet Burgers

  1. Jill

    I made stuffed zucchini with sautéed mushrooms, bell pepper, onion, garlic, marinara and grated Parmesan, topped with provolone. (We go meatless a few days each week, but we aren’t ready to go vegan yet.) trying the beet smoothie this weekend – going to the farmers market to pick up my CSA tomorrow!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

