Overnight Oats – My New Obsession

Mornings are starting to get hectic around here.  It’s hard to get myself and 3 kids up, dressed, fed, teeth brushed, winterized (hats, gloves, coats, shoes) and around the corner to the bus stop in time.  Especially when 2 of those 3 kids need my help with nearly all of those things.  M nearly missed the bus the other day.  Thankfully, the bus driver saw us running down the block and waited.

I’ve decided to at least try to make breakfast easier and less stressful by making it the night before.  These overnight oats are perfect for that!  And they are so yummy!  The kids love them too and with all the great nutrition packed into these jars our tummies are full until lunch.  I got both of these recipes from the blog My Whole Food Life.  I know I’ve mentioned it before, but I am in love with that blog.  Melissa is the amazing woman behind it and she has quite a few recipes for overnight oats.  So, stop on by and check out all her great recipes.

Gingerbread Overnight 

I made these with steel cut oats.  If you like your oatmeal a little chewy, this is the way to go.  If you like your oatmeal creamier, definitely go for Old Fashioned Oats.

ImageAll the ingredients layered in the jar.

ImageImageAll shook up!

 

I also made Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats.  I don’t have a picture of this, but we devoured them this morning and they were delicious! My favorite so far.

You could easily make 5 jars at once, one for every morning.  I ate one jar myself, my 5 year old too.  For my almost 2 year olds, I gave them each 1/2 of the jar.  So, I just do 3 at a time and start the process over again the next night.  It only takes a few minutes to throw it all together and give it a good shake.

Breakfast is then as easy as twisting off the lid and handing them a spoon!  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Overnight Oats – My New Obsession

    1. sebestyen2 Post author

      Try the pumpkin pie oats with old fashioned oats. Soooo good. I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk and used the maple syrup option for the sweetener. Yum!

      Reply

Leave a comment